Senior promotions and appointments within APRA

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) has made four new senior executive appointments to its leadership team.

The regulator announced this week it had appointed Melsande Waterford, Sharyn Reichstein, Gideon Holland and Jane O’Doherty to leadership roles.

Waterford has been appointed to the newly created role of general manager, licensing, Reichstein has been appointed to the newly-created role of general manager, advice and approvals, Holland has been appointed as general manager in APRA’s diversified institutions division and O’Doherty has been appointed to lead a newly-combined team comprising of APRA’s governance, operational and insurance risk specialists.

Related News:

Waterford has been with APRA since its establishment in 1998 and, amongst other roles, served on the secretariat of the Financial System Inquiry in 2014, while Reichstein comes to the role with what APRA describes as “a strong blend of supervisory and policy experience acquired over almost two decades with APRA”.

Holland joined APRA in 2011, having previously been a senior policy advisor at HM Treasury in the UK, while O’Doherty is currently the deputy head of the financial regulation division of the European Central Bank, having previously worked at APRA between 2008 and 2015.

In addition to these changes, APRA also announced that Dr Katrina Ellis would assume responsibility for APRA’s new data analytics unit, combining APRA’s current statistics and industry analysis functions into a single team responsible for improving APRA’s analytical capabilities, and the provision of data to APRA’s supervisors and external stakeholders.

Recommended for you


Add new comment