Rowell gets further APRA term

The Federal Government has reappointed Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) deputy chair, Helen Rowell, for another term and has named Treasury Deputy Secretary, John Lonsdale, as its choice for the second deputy chair role with the regulator.

Rowell has been a member of APRA since 2013 and deputy chair since 2015 and has been appointed for another five-year term.

Lonsdale will also be appointed for a five-year term subject to the approval of the Governor-General and on Parliament agreeing to legislation introduced on 24 May to amend the APRA Act to allow the appointment of up to two Deputy Chairs.

Related News:

Lonsdale will join APRA Chairman, Wayne Byres, Rowell and current APRA Member Geoff Summerhayes on APRA’s Executive Group.

Commenting on the appointments, Byers said the expansion of the regulator’s current Executive Group would add further depth and breadth of policy expertise.

"Geoff and I are very pleased to be able to continue working alongside Helen, as she further sharpens APRA's focus on enhancing outcomes for superannuation members. The expertise, authority and judgement Helen brings to APRA will be increasingly important in the years ahead as APRA continues its superannuation reform agenda,” he said.

"The nomination of John to assist Helen, Geoff and myself is recognition of the extensive program of supervisory and policy work APRA faces across the industries we regulate. With more than three decades of experience at Treasury, John is a welcome and valuable addition to APRA’s leadership team," Byres said.

Recommended for you


Add new comment